• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

Targeted by a dangerous Con Artist...?

I've been staying on Miami Beach since the end of July

Three weeks ago this Black guy in his 40s sat at a computer next to me at this internet cafe on the beach I was surfing GAF and looking at this Batman Begins filming clip posted here

(note: I am also Black)

He asked me what is that? I told him there was a new Batman movie being filmed in Chicago

He told me he was in the middle of filming something
then he went to a bunch of sites to show me how important he was
has a big series deal with HBO - Showtime blah blah that is to take the spot of SOULFOOD when it goes off the air

he asked what I did, I told him I was an artist (painter) moving down to Miami to create a new series of paintings and start over... then we talked about his Powerbook and how something happend and it froze on him. He told me he had a 17" I said oh I have the same back at the hotel. Told them there was an Apple Store at the FALLS (a mall in South Miami area) where he could have them fix it.

he asked for my number and told me he knew an agent that works with artists...
he had a woman with him that took my number down (his personal assistant)

I did not believe his game but I found it strange that a CEO would want to just show me
how much money he was making...

a week passed he never called...

then walking down Washington last week he saw me and asked me if I had done any new paintings... told him no... then he had this woman take down my number again and he said he wanted a book cover done... I said okay...

yesterday before the MTV VMAs around 3pm I got 3 calls on my cell
2 of them listed private I did not answer and the 3rd had a Miami area code
I still did not pick up... I waited then called that number... The Assistant answered

She said Jaye asked what was I doing today?
I said nothing...