• Hey, guest user. Hope you're enjoying NeoGAF! Have you considered registering for an account? Come join us and add your take to the daily discourse.

My first attempt at playing an RPG in Japanese. Quite confused

Mikazuki

Army death height crane group location world
I've been studying Japanese on and off for a year and a half and have about 900 words memorized and just started memorizing kanji. I'm learning the language very vaugely and feel knocked on my ass whenever I try to actually translate something. I just started playing FF4...

ff4j9kz.jpg

For the upper line, with the help of a dictionary, I came up with "Army death height crane group location world"

This is congruent with the picture but doesn't sound good at all. :lol My biggest problem is the apparent lack of spacing between words. Translating seems all about making your best guess with the sensory information to reference.

Am I screwing up horribly? Or is that basically how direct translations work? That would at least explain Engrish....

Thank you for your help!

Chairman Yang

if he talks about books, you better damn well listen
Mikazuki said:
For the upper line, with the help of a dictionary, I came up with "Army death height crane group location world"

Yep that's exactly right

Bebpo

Banned
Mikazuki said:
I've been studying Japanese on and off for a year and a half and have about 900 words memorized and just started memorizing kanji. I'm learning the language very vaugely and feel knocked on my ass whenever I try to actually translate something. I just started playing FF4...

ff4j9kz.jpg

This is congruent with the picture but doesn't sound good at all. :lol My biggest problem is the apparent lack of spacing between words. Translating seems all about making your best guess with the sensory information to reference.

Am I screwing up horribly? Or is that basically how direct translations work? That would at least explain Engrish....

Thank you for your help!